Ministry of Long-Term Care

Office of the Minister

400 University Avenue, 6th Floor Toronto ON M7A 1N3 Tel.: 416 325-6200

Ministère des Soins de longue durée

Bureau du minister

400, avenue University, 6e étage Toronto ON M7A 1N3 Tél.: 416 325-6200



eApprove#: 179-2020-23

July 21, 2020

Dear Long-Term Care Home Licensee

Re: LTC Home Accommodation Rate Changes Effective January 1, 2021

Thank you for your dedication and commitment to improving the quality of long-term care in Ontario, particularly for attending to the safety and security of residents during the COVID-19 crisis.

During this time, we want residents of long-term care homes to focus on care, not financials. With this in mind, the Ministry of Long-Term Care is deferring Long-Term Care (LTC) Home accommodation rate changes for a period of six months. The new rates that were scheduled to be applied on July 1, 2020 have now been deferred to January 1, 2021 to provide relief to residents and families that may be experiencing financial challenges due to COVID-19.

The Ministry will also be providing the Long-Term Care Homes Sector with up to an additional \$3.2 million to cover the portion of increases related to preferred accommodation premium during the deferral period. The announced increases to the level of care funding, which incorporates revenue that would have been collected from the basic accommodation co-payment increases, will continue as planned.

Further to this communication, Sheila Bristo, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Long-Term Care Operations Division will provide you with additional information on the accommodation rate changes that will be in effect on January 1, 2021.

Sincerely,

Dr. Merrilee Fullerton Minister of Long-Term Care

c: Mr. Richard Steele, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Long-Term Care

Ms. Sheila Bristo, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Homes Operations Division

Ms. Janet Hope, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Homes Policy Division

Mr. Brian Pollard, Assistant Deputy Minister, Long-Term Care Homes Capital Development Division

Mr. William Hatanaka, Board Chair, Local Health Integration Networks

- Mr. Matthew Anderson, President and Chief Executive Officer, Ontario Health
- Mr. Bruce Lauckner, Chief Executive Officer, Erie St. Clair, South West, Waterloo Wellington, and Hamilton Niagara Haldimand Brant LHINs
- Ms. Donna Cripps, Acting Chief Executive Officer, Central West, Mississauga Halton, Central, and North Simcoe Muskoka LHINs
- Ms. Tess Romain, Chief Executive Officer, Toronto Central LHIN
- Mr. Renato Discenza, Chief Executive Officer, Central East, South East, and Champlain LHINs
- Dr. Rhonda Crocker Ellacott, Chief Executive Officer, North East and North West LHINs. The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee